East to West

20120802-233933.jpg

We traveled across the country Wednesday and it was a success✈. I must admit, I was getting a little nervous about our first plane ride with our little one (11 months old) as we approached the airport. BUT the 5 1/2 hour flight from Newark, NJ to San Francisco, CA wasn’t bad at all. Ok…wait… I have to start with the night before.

Between packing, cleaning and of course a few snack brakes 😉 I was up extremely late the night before. Thank goodness I was because around 1:30am I received an email stating that our 6am flight had been cancelled! WHAT?!?! I just had to take a deep breath and stay calm, I was way too excited about this trip to allow any negative energy enter my space. So I called United Airline to see what needed to happen to make sure we arrived on the same day at a reasonable hour. They were a little sickening, claiming not to have any seats available until that night but after a couple complaints 2 seats miraculously opened up at 2am for a 10am departure. THANK GOD!! We could only get seats in the very last row. UGH!! Anyway we were on a flight and going to arrive midday, and i could get a couple hours of sleep AWESOME!!

So with this being our first flight I wanted to pay attention to what worked well and what I wished were a bit different and here’s what I got:

– We tried to pack as light as possible for both checked luggage and carry-on. We ended up with 2 checked bags, one was 2lbs over the weight limit (50lbs) and the other was about 4lbs under (and we just pray that we have all we need). We had a backpack with our stuff: books, computer, food (2 sandwhiches and fruit), lotion… you know the stuff we always carry but never really get to (teehee), the diaper bag and the car seat on wheels. It sounds like a lot but it really wasn’t. I forgot to get a pic but I’ll have one for you on the ride home😉.

– As for diapers we brought 4 diapers (2pockets & 2 all-in-ones) which was great for the 6 hour flight and we arrived 1hr before take off. So here’s how it worked. I cloth diaper and I didn’t want to leave any dirty diapers in the house so they had to be washed before we left. I put a load in when we woke up while my little one had diaper free time until we had to leave the house. We got him to the potty a couple times before we diapered him👍…changed him right before we got on the plane, two changes while on the plane and one when we got off. PERFECT!!

-I packed a rattle that’s not too loud, a little frog toy with a teething element and 3 little books to keep him occupied on the plane. Well I only needed the frog and 1 book. He was pretty excited to see all the planes and action going on outside the window as the plane loaded and during take off, he nursed a bit and fell asleep. THANK GOODNESS!! I got to nap as well and it was nice and cozy in the back little corner. When he woke up we were a little more than half way there and it was time to eat. YES!! I packed carrots that he loves to eat alone and a bit of spinach, rice and beans. Oh and 2 slices of wheat bread. The carrots and the bread was all he wanted. We took a walk and visited a couple of the other babies on the plane and stood in the back a bit. By the time we sat down we had about an hour to go. SWEET!! Read a bit played a bit and watched the plane land (the smoothest landing ever
I must say). SUCCESS!!

So overall I must say the first flight was FANTASTIC!! And I have to admit being in the last row was actually a good thing. We were able to put our bags under our seats and have leg room in front of us. And of course having my buddy/hubby with me made it even better❤. Only a few adjustments needed for the flight home.

20120802-233949.jpg
Fun with a cup and a book😄

20120802-233959.jpg
Milk…silly faces…sleep!!

I am so grateful for all my blessings! Life is full of lessons and I’m loving it. Thanks for stopping by Learning Life…

Categories: Uncategorized | Tags: , , , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Radical Doula

Where social justice & birth activism meet

QIsha

Finding balance in life.

There's no place like....

Paris, London, & Havana. Four homies from Barnard take it on the road!

Vicky...the Northern Chicky

Grab a Glass of Wine and Let Me Tell You About My Day!

The Laotian Commotion

Lao-American honesty about parenting, relationships, and you

Family, Relationships and Personal Situations

FRaPS: Family, Relationship and Personal Situations are our specialty. Let us help you stay strong and full of life. Let's put an end to bullying and school shootings!!

Parenting And Stuff

Not a "how to be a great parent" blog

Game4Learning

Fun Learning Resouces for Kids

BLACK WOMEN BIRTHING JUSTICE

A collective of African-American, African, Caribbean and multi-racial women who are committed to transforming the birthing experiences for Black women

The Progress

a Progressive Pupil blog

Live, Love, Learn, and Laugh

one woman's journey

No Meat Athlete

Plant-Based Diet for Fitness | Vegan Recipes & Nutrition | Vegan Fitness & Running

The Mahogany Way

Loving The Ordinary & Capturing Moments

missionmightymom

A topnotch WordPress.com site

This is the Diary of My Stylish World

Wife, Mother, and lover of all things Fashion

The mindless Sojourner

Caressing my mind

My love affair with running

Here I am running, eating and breathing my way through life in beautiful Sydney (Powered by oats and tea)

