Moving Mommy Monday

20120820-002522.jpg

This week is going to be a great week. My hubby’s birthday is Monday and my little one turns 1 on Wednesday. I can’t believe it!! No big parties planned but we are planning to celebrate both days in a memorable way. Family gathers big or small are always fun for us. All we need is a little food, music and each other and we are ready to have a GGGOOOOODDD time.

We had one celebration for my hubby already with dinner at our favorite Ethiopian restaurant in our area, Mesob, followed by a free Luciano concert at the New Jersey Performing Art Center’s free covert series. we’ll probably have dinner on his birthday and of course sing over some cake. Yummy!!

Now for our little duda we’ve decided not to go all out with a party but do something small that will include a first for him. So I’m attempting to make Vegan Carrot Cake Muffins with a coconut milk whipped cream icing. I came across this recipe on the Wild + Wee blog. I’m excited to try a new recipe and see his face as he dives in. He gets excited about most meals but this will be a bit different from what he’s used to.

In addition to the birthday planning we had an exciting visit from my dad and Phyllis. They are such happy grandparents. I think my dad has gone back to the years when he was a kid. He literally gets note floor and rolls around with the little one. And they communicate with each other as of they are peers. It’s pretty funny.

The little one took a few steps or almost steps this weekend too. I think we get too excited and throw him off a bit but it’s just SOOO exciting. He also had his first trip to the library AND he’s been entered in a summer reading challenge. We have to read 30 books by Sept 7. As much as he likes books we could be able to accomplish that.

I got most of my cooking for the week done and even tried a new recipe, vegan eggplant parmasean. I haven’t tasted it yet but it looks good. The house is a pretty much straightened. (I think we need to get rid of some things to eliminate some of the clutter.)

Oh and did I mention I ran 15 miles!! WOOPWOOP! This was my longest run ever and unfortunately I mapped a route with a bunch of hills but I felt a lot better than I thought I would at the end. I keep missing workouts on my marathon training schedule but I make sure I get the long runs in. Running for a cause definitely keeps me motivated. You can help me fight pancreatic cancer by donating to the Pancreatic Cancer Action Network.

I have a few goals for this week that may help me get a little more rest and be in line with my fitness schedule.
1) be in bed by 11 at least 3 nights this week

2) complete ALL workouts on my training schedule which includes 3, 5 mile runs, 2 days of Pilates and at least 1 day of P90X abs

3)eat dinner at the table as a family at least 4 nights this week

Maybe having these weekly goals written down will keep me more driven to make sure they are accomplished.

Making moves as a mommy…it’s a work in progress😉

20120820-000345.jpg

Luciano

20120820-002326.jpg

Hubby and I

20120820-002355.jpg

Books from the library

20120820-002550.jpgVegan eggplant parm

Categories: Uncategorized | Tags: , , , , | 2 Comments

Post navigation

2 thoughts on “Moving Mommy Monday

  1. aunt carolyn burnett

    Hey Jill, tell me how you made the egg plant, i would like to make that one day for my vegan coworker. Life seems to be treating you good, keep up the good work. love u

    • Hey Aunt Carol, I found this really simply recipe on YouTube. 1st I made the “cheese” sauce ( http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=KDrCbSvrSPE ) : in a medium bowl combine, a package of extra firm tofu, basil, lemon juice and I used Bragg’s liquid aminos instead of salt, blend it until it a ricotta texture. They used a food processor but I just used my hands to mix it.

      2nd: prep and cook the dish ( http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=LtSPOkgGkjw&feature=relmfu ) I mixed bread crumbs, oregano, nutritional yeast and the recipe called for cornmeal also but I didn’t have any so I just left it out. Coat a large eggplant that has been peeled and sliced with the breading mixture. Lay them on one layer and bake for 10mins on each side. The put it all together. I put sauce first then a single layer of eggplant, then the “cheese”, then some sautéed spinach, another layer of eggplant and finally more sauce. Lastly I baked it for about 45 minutes. It was a little salty but I think that was from the sauce I used, otherwise it was delish.

      Exploring recipes in the kitchen has been a very fun adventure.

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Radical Doula

Where social justice & birth activism meet

QIsha

Finding balance in life.

There's no place like....

Paris, London, & Havana. Four homies from Barnard take it on the road!

Vicky...the Northern Chicky

Grab a Glass of Wine and Let Me Tell You About My Day!

The Laotian Commotion

Lao-American honesty about parenting, relationships, and you

Family, Relationships and Personal Situations

FRaPS: Family, Relationship and Personal Situations are our specialty. Let us help you stay strong and full of life. Let's put an end to bullying and school shootings!!

Parenting And Stuff

Not a "how to be a great parent" blog

Game4Learning

Fun Learning Resouces for Kids

BLACK WOMEN BIRTHING JUSTICE

A collective of African-American, African, Caribbean and multi-racial women who are committed to transforming the birthing experiences for Black women

The Progress

a Progressive Pupil blog

Live, Love, Learn, and Laugh

one woman's journey

No Meat Athlete

Plant-Based Diet for Fitness | Vegan Recipes & Nutrition | Vegan Fitness & Running

The Mahogany Way

Loving The Ordinary & Capturing Moments

missionmightymom

A topnotch WordPress.com site

This is the Diary of My Stylish World

Wife, Mother, and lover of all things Fashion

The mindless Sojourner

Caressing my mind

My love affair with running

Here I am running, eating and breathing my way through life in beautiful Sydney (Powered by oats and tea)

