HAPPY NEW YEAR IN AUGUST!!

20120823-142954.jpg

We get to celebrate a bunch of birthdays in August (hubby, baby, aunt and close friend). Birthday celebrations are my FAVORITE! It’s YOUR personal new year. You get to thank God for so many blessings, reflect on the last year, and make plans for your next year of life.

This month is extra special for us because we get to celebrate out little one’s very first birthday. WOOHOO!! I always hear people say time flies but my goodness! This past year has been full of excitement and joy as we all watched baby boy reach milestones along the way.

As we prepare for 2013 my hubby and I have been working on saving and making changes to be able to accomplish some BIG goals in the new year. So we decided not to have a huge party for the first one. We chose to have a small celebration and a whole lot of fun!!

I made a crown for baby boy and since I’m such a great planner, ahem, I got started with the crown at 9:30pm the night before his birthday. Now I’m not a crafty person. I’ve done my fair share of collages over the years, I’ve tried to make a dress sewing by hand, a have done a few small projects when I was younger but that’s about it. For the crown, I tried to use a sewing machine my mom’s friend gave me about 2 years ago. OH MY GOODNESS… it took so long (about 1hr) for me to figure out how to thread the machine only for it to keep jamming while I was sewing. UGH😁!! I was determined to make a crown for my boy so I ha to sew it by hand. It came out pretty good AND he actually wore it (of course after taking it off a few times first).

With the help of my sistercousin (she’s technically my cousin but feels more like a sister), I also made vegan, sugar free carrot cake mini muffins and vegan banana ice cream. The ice cream was delicious and the muffins were ok. They could have used a little sugar but baby boy loved them and I had some to take for breakfast. The rest of our guests were nice enough to try them and liked the ice cream but not the muffins so much. LOL I’m glad they’re so supportive as we work towards switching to a plant based diet.

Over all the celebration was great, very inexpensive, and baby boy had a BLAST. YES!!

20120823-152210.jpg
Crown making process. Check out juicy bits for instructions.

20120823-210746.jpg
He enjoyed his vegan, sugar free carrot cake muffins (recipe from Wild + Wee) and homemade vegan banana ice cream (recipe from the Forks Over Knives companion book)

Categories: Uncategorized | Tags: , , , , , | 1 Comment

Post navigation

One thought on “HAPPY NEW YEAR IN AUGUST!!

  1. Michele

    You never cease to amaze me… love you and congratulations to the whole family… Happy New Year!

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Radical Doula

Where social justice & birth activism meet

QIsha

Finding balance in life.

There's no place like....

Paris, London, & Havana. Four homies from Barnard take it on the road!

Vicky...the Northern Chicky

Grab a Glass of Wine and Let Me Tell You About My Day!

The Laotian Commotion

Lao-American honesty about parenting, relationships, and you

Family, Relationships and Personal Situations

FRaPS: Family, Relationship and Personal Situations are our specialty. Let us help you stay strong and full of life. Let's put an end to bullying and school shootings!!

Parenting And Stuff

Not a "how to be a great parent" blog

Game4Learning

Fun Learning Resouces for Kids

BLACK WOMEN BIRTHING JUSTICE

A collective of African-American, African, Caribbean and multi-racial women who are committed to transforming the birthing experiences for Black women

The Progress

a Progressive Pupil blog

Live, Love, Learn, and Laugh

one woman's journey

No Meat Athlete

Plant-Based Diet for Fitness | Vegan Recipes & Nutrition | Vegan Fitness & Running

The Mahogany Way

Loving The Ordinary & Capturing Moments

missionmightymom

A topnotch WordPress.com site

This is the Diary of My Stylish World

Wife, Mother, and lover of all things Fashion

The mindless Sojourner

Caressing my mind

My love affair with running

Here I am running, eating and breathing my way through life in beautiful Sydney (Powered by oats and tea)

