Sign Language from a 1 Year Old!!!

20120829-094919.jpg

When I was pregnant I read about babies doing sign language. It made so much sense to me. Why not help your baby express him/herself as they work on building their vocabulary?

So I started signing when my little one was about 6months old. I wasn’t very patient and after about 2 months I stopped. Between then and now (he’s 1 now) I would sign every now and then but nothing consistent.

WWEEELLLL after seeing a coworker studying American Sign Language (ASL) and a close friend sharing her experience of her 16 month old starting to sign, I was inspired to start again. Boy am I glad I did.

I’ve been signing poop (since we are also practicing elimination communication [EC] more about that to come in another post), eat/food, finished, milk and more. I’ve been a lot more consistent over the past couple of weeks. I was so excited and surprised when I saw him attempt the poop sign while we were eating breakfast Tuesday morning. Then I almost jumped out of my skin when he consistently signed “more” during dinner Tuesday night.

Babies are truly brilliant!! I’m finding that the more he is exposed to the more he picks up. Now I have to work on learning sign language. At least enough to help him express himself and avoid frustration, for both the adults (not knowing what he wants) and for my little one (not being understood).

I guess the more it becomes a part of our day-to-day interaction the better. I want to be careful not to put too much pressure on him, though.

Only 1 year has passed and I’m COMPLETELY in love with this journey.

Have you tried ASL with your little ones? What advice do you have? Share your story with us!

Thanks for being a part of the Learning Life… community😄

Categories: Uncategorized | Tags: , , , | 2 Comments

Post navigation

2 thoughts on “Sign Language from a 1 Year Old!!!

  1. Michele

    babies are brilliant, and so are all of the rest of us who are committed to being life-long learners. Let’s be inspired to introduce a new language to our elementary schoolers – ASL, Spanish, French, any other language and the younger the better. Thanks Jill – as always, what you’re sharing is inspiring…

    • Yay for language learning!! I’m still working on getting a second one under my belt. I’ve had French and spanish but still can’t hop a conversation. I think I am most comfortable with Setswana and try to speak as much as I can with my little one. I guess I’ll learn with him as my hubby teaches him his native tongue.

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Radical Doula

Where social justice & birth activism meet

QIsha

Finding balance in life.

There's no place like....

Paris, London, & Havana. Four homies from Barnard take it on the road!

Vicky...the Northern Chicky

Grab a Glass of Wine and Let Me Tell You About My Day!

The Laotian Commotion

Lao-American honesty about parenting, relationships, and you

Family, Relationships and Personal Situations

FRaPS: Family, Relationship and Personal Situations are our specialty. Let us help you stay strong and full of life. Let's put an end to bullying and school shootings!!

Parenting And Stuff

Not a "how to be a great parent" blog

Game4Learning

Fun Learning Resouces for Kids

BLACK WOMEN BIRTHING JUSTICE

A collective of African-American, African, Caribbean and multi-racial women who are committed to transforming the birthing experiences for Black women

The Progress

a Progressive Pupil blog

Live, Love, Learn, and Laugh

one woman's journey

No Meat Athlete

Plant-Based Diet for Fitness | Vegan Recipes & Nutrition | Vegan Fitness & Running

The Mahogany Way

Loving The Ordinary & Capturing Moments

missionmightymom

A topnotch WordPress.com site

This is the Diary of My Stylish World

Wife, Mother, and lover of all things Fashion

The mindless Sojourner

Caressing my mind

My love affair with running

Here I am running, eating and breathing my way through life in beautiful Sydney (Powered by oats and tea)

