Pumpkin Time!!

20121018-090743.jpg

 

Last week I took a week off of blogging but I have loads to share. It’s amazing how things just all tend to blend together.

 

A couple weekends ago, we had loads of family fun. My hubby, son and I spent the entire weekend together, that doesn’t always happen. I was supposed to go line dancing on Friday but choose to just hang out with the fam instead. We went to a kinderfest in Verona but it was an outdoor event, we are not really fans of the cold so we zipped through there very quickly. It looked like the families were having tons of fun with kiddy games for ALL ages, including a bouncy castle for my 13 month old. Maybe next year it will be warmer and we can enjoy the activities.

 

Sunday, was the highlight of the weekend for me. We started off at church, for the first time as a family of 3. My hubby enjoyed the service as I was stuck in the basement attempting to listen to the sermon while running after my, now walking running little one😆!

 

After church and grabbing a bite to eat, my crew scooped up my mother and 8yr old brother and went pumpkin picking! That was so much fun. My little one enjoyed the “hay ride” and was so excited when he saw all the orange pumpkins when we got to the field. He loved rubbing, rolling and beating the pumpkins like a drum hehe!! I just can’t get enough of his joy from the simplest pleasures in life. (Next year we will have to explore a REAL pumpkin patch.  I was very surprised when I saw a pick up truck dropping off pumpkins.)

 

After picking pumpkins, reconnecting a lost child to her mom (it is so important to LITTERALLY hold on to our young ones in these large open settings) and of course taking way more pictures than we know what to do with, we headed to the farm’s store. We were all in heaven!! There were so many fresh veggies and homemade whatever, including donuts that were amazing, that we didn’t know what to choose.

 

Needless to say we spent more time there and got home a lot later than we wanted to. I’m finding that the weekends are precious in so many ways. Time must be spent wisely. I used to think that moms who mapped out EVERYTHING, especially the weekends, just went overboard. Well I completely understand why now. It is so important to have a plan and try by all means to stick to it so your work week won’t start off so hectic. Having a plan saves time, money and aggregation. I need to revisit some organizational tools I USED to use.

 

This past weekend we did the breast cancer walk in Newark. Well…my sistercousin, little one and I got there a bit late and didn’t get to walk but we enjoyed the music, dancing and great spirits at the race. Then we headed to my aunt’s house for brunch. I LOVE going to her house. She knows how I make you feel welcome. It was a great way to end the weekend. Of course I ended up staying out later than I expected and had yet another week of not getting the week’s meals done. Thank goodness my hubby cooked so we have some stuff to start with.

 

What do you do to stay organized? How do you get family activities, meals and fun done without extra madness?

20121018-090757.jpg

Categories: Uncategorized | Tags: , , , | 2 Comments

Post navigation

2 thoughts on “Pumpkin Time!!

  1. toni munford

    Great recap..what’s in store for this weekend.

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Radical Doula

Where social justice & birth activism meet

QIsha

Finding balance in life.

There's no place like....

Paris, London, & Havana. Four homies from Barnard take it on the road!

Vicky...the Northern Chicky

Grab a Glass of Wine and Let Me Tell You About My Day!

The Laotian Commotion

Lao-American honesty about parenting, relationships, and you

Family, Relationships and Personal Situations

FRaPS: Family, Relationship and Personal Situations are our specialty. Let us help you stay strong and full of life. Let's put an end to bullying and school shootings!!

Parenting And Stuff

Not a "how to be a great parent" blog

Game4Learning

Fun Learning Resouces for Kids

BLACK WOMEN BIRTHING JUSTICE

A collective of African-American, African, Caribbean and multi-racial women who are committed to transforming the birthing experiences for Black women

The Progress

a Progressive Pupil blog

Live, Love, Learn, and Laugh

one woman's journey

No Meat Athlete

Plant-Based Diet for Fitness | Vegan Recipes & Nutrition | Vegan Fitness & Running

The Mahogany Way

Loving The Ordinary & Capturing Moments

missionmightymom

A topnotch WordPress.com site

This is the Diary of My Stylish World

Wife, Mother, and lover of all things Fashion

The mindless Sojourner

Caressing my mind

My love affair with running

Here I am running, eating and breathing my way through life in beautiful Sydney (Powered by oats and tea)

