Marathon Training Update

20121025-103055.jpg

The marathon is only 10 days away \O/. I am SO ready to get to that starting line!! It almost feels like I’m in the last semester of school before getting my degree. Not that I don’t love running (or learning) but you know how you’re just ready for a little break.

I’ve enjoyed this race training journey and have learned so much about myself, physically, mentally and spiritually. People said if you can get through the training the race will be an added bonus. Well I’m not sure how I’ll feel on race day but I am feeling like a victory is the only option after all of the training and fundraising.

Last weekend was our last long run, a 15 miler that felt great. My hamstring was a little tight when I finished but other than that the run felt good. I actually thought I was going to stop at 10 miles then get the other 5 in later but since I was feeling good I decided to do one more 5 mile loop.

Let the tapering begin!! It’s time to scale back on EVERYTHING, mileage, cross-training and intensity and prepare myself for race day. As my Aunt Shelly suggested, I went to see a chiropractor, Andrea Buccino, in Caldwell, NJ last week and I felt great after the visit. I was little sore but not as tight. I’m scheduled to see her at least once a week until the race and for 2 weeks after the race. She was great!! Andrea talked me through everything that she was doing and I left there with no questions, looser legs and some how I even felt a little more confident. How does that work?

I’ve started visualizing the starting line. This is pretty interesting especially since I am 100% amazed by the idea of getting over 47,000 people organized enough to start a race and end it with a bunch of goodies, entertainment and MILLIONS of cheers along the way. I can’t wait to see how everything works out. New York Roadrunners have this down to a science. After all they’ve been doing this every year since 1970. Whoa!!

I’ve started my checklist of things I need the day before and the hours before starting, the goodies I’d like my family to have available during and after the race and of course all that my little one will need. I think this will be the longest I’ve ever been away from him. I’m projecting that I will leave my house around 5:30amish and have him back in my arms around 5:30pmish. AAHHH!! I’m sure we’ll both be fine. He will be in the hands of my cheering squad: four grandparents, 2 cousins, an aunt, an uncle and his father (loads of love all around).

I saw a marathon commercial this morning and I was so amped!! I’m ready NOW!!

ING NYC MARATHON HERE I COME!! WOOPWOOP!!

20121022-090130.jpg

Me before our 15 miler and my running partner’s feet after.

Categories: Uncategorized | Tags: , , | 4 Comments

Post navigation

4 thoughts on “Marathon Training Update

  1. c.burnett@eastorange.k12.nj.us

    I’m so excited for you…..hoping i’ll be able to attend if my surgery can hold off, if not, i’ll be praying and thinking of you. I’ll be looking for you at the finish line, my feet and knees still hurt from that walk, next year, Hass is pushing me in a wheelchair. Loved having you guys over, can’t wait for the next gathering, hopefully, Brie and Danny will be able to attend. I don’t know what Brie looks like anymore.
    Keep up the good work. LOL

  2. Danielle Davenport

    So excited!!!! So proud of you, Jill–countdown to November 4!

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Radical Doula

Where social justice & birth activism meet

QIsha

Finding balance in life.

There's no place like....

Paris, London, & Havana. Four homies from Barnard take it on the road!

Vicky...the Northern Chicky

Grab a Glass of Wine and Let Me Tell You About My Day!

The Laotian Commotion

Lao-American honesty about parenting, relationships, and you

Family, Relationships and Personal Situations

FRaPS: Family, Relationship and Personal Situations are our specialty. Let us help you stay strong and full of life. Let's put an end to bullying and school shootings!!

Parenting And Stuff

Not a "how to be a great parent" blog

Game4Learning

Fun Learning Resouces for Kids

BLACK WOMEN BIRTHING JUSTICE

A collective of African-American, African, Caribbean and multi-racial women who are committed to transforming the birthing experiences for Black women

The Progress

a Progressive Pupil blog

Live, Love, Learn, and Laugh

one woman's journey

No Meat Athlete

Plant-Based Diet for Fitness | Vegan Recipes & Nutrition | Vegan Fitness & Running

The Mahogany Way

Loving The Ordinary & Capturing Moments

missionmightymom

A topnotch WordPress.com site

This is the Diary of My Stylish World

Wife, Mother, and lover of all things Fashion

The mindless Sojourner

Caressing my mind

My love affair with running

Here I am running, eating and breathing my way through life in beautiful Sydney (Powered by oats and tea)

