Midnight Reflections

So I happened to get up (at 1:17am) for a diaper change, bathroom run and of course ended up nursing Littleone (I think I’m going to give him a better name for this blog) and I ended up reading a few emails with blog updates. I follow a couple of blogs because I just LOVE hearing about how people make life work.

Well I’ve been inspired and lead to reflect, at this wee hour of the morning (can we REALLY call it morning) so I decided to share.

The first post I read, from Faith, Life, Health… and Skin Care!, was from my cousin who happens to be a small business owner. For the past couple of years I’ve been trying to think of ways to become a small business owner. Nothing has really SPARKED for me yet. Many of my family members and friends have encouraged me to pick up on my photography again but that just doesn’t seem to make me as excited as I’d like this business to make me. I feel like if I’m going to be a working mom (or maybe even a stay at home mom eventually) my business on the side MUST bring me some type of joy that will help me get through the many challenges that come with being a business owner. I’m sure I’ll have my ๐Ÿ’ก moment when the time is right. I must be patient (UGH) and allow things to flow. Back to the post, she shared a great lesson: to share to anyone within 5 feet what you do…

Be excited!… Excitement is contagious!!

I think this is great, what better way to connect with people than to share your experiences. And I agree 100% excitement IS contagious no matter how much resistance you get at first. Well I don’t know if she knows it but my cousin inspires me. Every time I see her (which is not as often as I should) she seems to be EXCITED about life. I just love that, thank cousin.

The second post, from Run Wifey Run, made me think about my dream of being a stay at home mom. Now this blog is great, Wifey shares a lot about motherhood and fitness, to of my favorite things in life!! In this particular post, she shared her “marriage and motherhood missteps”. From her successful career to choosing to be a stay at home mom she shared some of her challenges and how she’s working on life at home. I appreciated this post A LOT!! I love that she shared her struggle with judging herself during the transition to being a stay at home mom. While I am not a stay at home mom, I do tend to be pretty hard on myself for not being able to stay home. Now don’t get me wrong, I FINALLY feel like my career is moving in a good direction, BUT I would much rather be home with Littleone (better name coming soon๐Ÿ˜‰) to watch him develop and be there for all his falls and whimpers and discoveries and…well I think you know what I mean. When I was younger I never would have thought I would WANT I be a stay at home mom but I do. And as my career continues to move forward, I guess I’ll continue to look for a way to contribute to my community and be able to be a stay at home mom. Wifey has me reflecting on my situation. I’ll have to learn to be comfortable with where I am until I’m able to make a change. I don’t think I’m a bad mom or anything like that, I’d just love to make a transition.

This post isn’t meant to be a sob story in any way. As I continue to count my blessing and work on being the best wife…mommy…me I can be, I enjoy these moments of reflection. And I’ve learned that sharing a few reflections can sometimes help someone else๐Ÿ˜Š, as other people’s sharing a have been helpful to me. Back to sleep I go… I have a pretty full and exciting day at work tomorrow/today (hehe).

As always, thanks for stopping by.
…still a work in progress.

Categories: Uncategorized | Tags: , , , , , | 6 Comments

Post navigation

6 thoughts on “Midnight Reflections

  1. Michele

    you are an amazing woman Jillian and it’s so refreshing to have your honest reflections. Thanks for sharing and thanks for your patience. He will reveal what’s He has in store for you. It’s just a matter of time. Love & Hugs Always,

  2. Danielle Gines

    Jillian, I love your thoughts! You’re always so sincere! I completely understand about the limbo and how that takes TONS (and TONS) of patience. I’m finally getting closer to where I want to be professionally but it still looks like it’s going to take time. The journey readies us for the next life chapter even if all we see is the dirt path right in front of us, at least it is leading somewhere and not dead ending! I miss your face and think of you often! I’m sending a big Texas hug to your little one, too!

    • Thank you so much Danielle!! I miss you too!! And that’s a great way to stay motivated I will remind myself to celebrate the path that is not leading to a dead end. ๐Ÿ˜Š

  3. Excitement is contagious! ๐Ÿ™‚ Great reflections! I have them in the middle of the night, too! Yikes! Sounds like you have the right attitude – aren’t we all a work in progress? *ahem*

    Thanks for your kind words and for sharing …

    Winks & Smiles,
    Wifey

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Radical Doula

Where social justice & birth activism meet

QIsha

Finding balance in life.

There's no place like....

Paris, London, & Havana. Four homies from Barnard take it on the road!

Vicky...the Northern Chicky

Grab a Glass of Wine and Let Me Tell You About My Day!

The Laotian Commotion

Lao-American honesty about parenting, relationships, and you

Family, Relationships and Personal Situations

FRaPS: Family, Relationship and Personal Situations are our specialty. Let us help you stay strong and full of life. Let's put an end to bullying and school shootings!!

Parenting And Stuff

Not a "how to be a great parent" blog

Game4Learning

Fun Learning Resouces for Kids

BLACK WOMEN BIRTHING JUSTICE

A collective of African-American, African, Caribbean and multi-racial women who are committed to transforming the birthing experiences for Black women

The Progress

a Progressive Pupil blog

Live, Love, Learn, and Laugh

one woman's journey

No Meat Athlete

Plant-Based Diet for Fitness | Vegan Recipes & Nutrition | Vegan Fitness & Running

The Mahogany Way

Loving The Ordinary & Capturing Moments

missionmightymom

A topnotch WordPress.com site

This is the Diary of My Stylish World

Wife, Mother, and lover of all things Fashion

The mindless Sojourner

Caressing my mind

My love affair with running

Here I am running, eating and breathing my way through life in beautiful Sydney (Powered by oats and tea)

