Unforgettable Weekend!!

My weekend was beyond AMAZING!! It started off on Wednesday. My job received a ton of perishable items of food that we were not able to give away so we were allowed to take home some goodies. I was able to give my grandmother a bag of corn the cob, oranges, cantaloupe and yams AND I had a bag of my own. What a blessing!!!

Thursday was a holiday, that I don’t really celebrate (that’s another story), but I can always appreciate a day off😊. We weren’t too sure about the weather but took an impromptu trip to the beach. Long Branch was our choice and it was PACKED (it took us 30 minutes to find parking, geez). They were having an ocean fest, which meant amazing food and music, and the air was the perfect temperature. My aunt and 2 sistercousins drive in from Brooklyn to join, aunT, my brother, hubby, bean and me for a fun filled day at the Jersey Shore.

Bean refused to put his feet in the sand for about the first 30 minutes. But after enjoying a vegetarian gyro (that was beyond delicious) and a little help from one of the aunts, he was good to go. This was his second time at the beach but with him being almost 2, it was pretty exciting to see him explore in the sand, make a friend and jump the waves. I actually got to relax a bit as I wedged my 9 month pregnant body in a kiddie beach chair and just observed the scenery for a bit. Tons of fun!

20130708-042522.jpg

20130708-042536.jpg

Friday, back to work, UGH! Well not really this time because it was an extremely productive day in a very empty building. AND I got to have lunch with a friend I haven’t spent time with in a bit. That was really refreshing. Plus we got out about an hour early AND my dad and Phyllis came from Virginia for a visit.

Saturday, was my Blessingway (my baby/womanhood celebration) that I opted for instead of a shower. This event needs its own post so stay tuned for that. Just know that it was new to my family and so worth having.

Sunday, a trip to the NJ State Fair on an extremely hot day. It was the last day of the fair and we arrived right before they opened. Parking was free and the unlimited passes were discounted. Just my mom, brother, bean and I went. It was perfect! We (well they) didn’t have to wait in any lines for rides or snacks. I usually get on rides with my brother but since I have a little seed I my belly😃 my mom stepped right up. I don’t remember her EVER getting on rides when I was younger. But being the best mom ever for us she put her fears aside and was flipping upside down and all around for her son and even wedged in a few kiddie rides with her grandson. Bean was able to enjoy a few rides on his own this year which was pretty exciting. Needless to say WE HAD A BLAST!!

20130708-044630.jpg

20130708-044622.jpg

To wrap up the weekend my hubby took me on a date. Now we’ve had date nights before but haven’t in a while. I usually plan them but this time he planned everything. I just had to go along for the ride. We went to China Gourmet and the food was delicious! We had a good chat, a few laughs and headed back to my moms to get Bean.

Whew!! That was a loaded weekend and I had a blast. Times like this just remind me of how blessed I am. With so much going on in my world right now it’s nice to be able to reflect on such a wonderfully, powerful weekend of family fun.

Thanks for reading and I hope you are able to reflect on goodness whenever it comes your way😊.

Peace and many blessings!!

Categories: Uncategorized | Tags: , , , , , , , | 2 Comments

Post navigation

2 thoughts on “Unforgettable Weekend!!

  1. Michele D

    Whew!? I’m exhausted just listening to it but I guess that’s the beauty of being young – you have tons of energy. It’s sounds like you have a blessed life- good for you for acknowledging it. Have a fabulous, spirit- filled week!

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Radical Doula

Where social justice & birth activism meet

QIsha

Finding balance in life.

There's no place like....

Paris, London, & Havana. Four homies from Barnard take it on the road!

Vicky...the Northern Chicky

Grab a Glass of Wine and Let Me Tell You About My Day!

The Laotian Commotion

Lao-American honesty about parenting, relationships, and you

Family, Relationships and Personal Situations

FRaPS: Family, Relationship and Personal Situations are our specialty. Let us help you stay strong and full of life. Let's put an end to bullying and school shootings!!

Parenting And Stuff

Not a "how to be a great parent" blog

Game4Learning

Fun Learning Resouces for Kids

BLACK WOMEN BIRTHING JUSTICE

A collective of African-American, African, Caribbean and multi-racial women who are committed to transforming the birthing experiences for Black women

The Progress

a Progressive Pupil blog

Live, Love, Learn, and Laugh

one woman's journey

No Meat Athlete

Plant-Based Diet for Fitness | Vegan Recipes & Nutrition | Vegan Fitness & Running

The Mahogany Way

Loving The Ordinary & Capturing Moments

missionmightymom

A topnotch WordPress.com site

This is the Diary of My Stylish World

Wife, Mother, and lover of all things Fashion

The mindless Sojourner

Caressing my mind

My love affair with running

Here I am running, eating and breathing my way through life in beautiful Sydney (Powered by oats and tea)

