Cloth Diaper Madness

20131118-124840.jpg

I used cloth diapers with Bean for most of his life (23 of 27months). Shortly after his 2nd birthday we switched to disposables because we were having a hard time getting rid of this horrible ammonia smell. I mean we’ve tried EVERYTHING, so I thought. We stripped the diapers with dawn, changed detergent, tried vinegar…you name it. I started to wonder if maybe our water was to blame. GEEZ! I just had to get make a change. Opening the dirty diaper pail or the wet bag was enough to make you pass out.

Sooooo, unfortunately we made the switch. We’ve been dealing with disposables since July and I still am not a fan. Well I do like that we can just throw the diaper out and keep moving but then I think about the amount of trash we have now, other than that I miss cloth diapering. They’re cuter, less expensive and I think they were helping with the toilet learning process (more about that in another post).

Now that we’ve relocated. I’ve started to slowly use the cloth diapers again over the last 2 weeks. Someone told me to add a little bleach to the cycle. I was hesitant to do that since we don’t use bleach at all. But I did and so far we haven’t had the ammonia smell. I’m not sure if it’s the water or if it was the bleach but I’m hoping to be back to cloth 100% within the next month or at least by the new year. Right now we are just cloth diapering when we are in the house and at night. Bean seems to prefer the disposables but Sprout is in cloth most of the time while we’re in the house. So we’ll keep paying attention to this smell and hopefully we’ll be good to go.

Do you cloth diaper? What have been your challenges and how did you manage ?

20131118-124734.jpg

Categories: Uncategorized | Tags: , , , | 3 Comments

Post navigation

3 thoughts on “Cloth Diaper Madness

  1. I have a 2&1/2 week old and we are part time cloth/disposable. His legs are so tiny that only a few of our newborn size cloth diapers fit him, they are used daily and washed daily for now till we he gains more weight and we can add the others into rotation. Dad is 100% supportive of CDing but is hesitant to put them on baby. I wish I had more Velcro/Alpex instead of snaps. He’s so tiny the snaps are kind if annoying right now. But we’ve got a stash of over 25 so hopefully we will be full time cloth soon.

    • Are you using all-in-ones or prefolds and covers. I found that with Bean (who was not as chunky as Sprout) prefolds worked better. Good luck with the switch and it’s so great to have support isn’t it?

      • We’re using pockets, he’s starting to fit into his one size diapers which is the majority of our stash. I have a lot of prefolds and I haven’t tried to put one on him yet, they seem so big and his legs are still so skinny.

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Radical Doula

Where social justice & birth activism meet

QIsha

Finding balance in life.

There's no place like....

Paris, London, & Havana. Four homies from Barnard take it on the road!

Vicky...the Northern Chicky

Grab a Glass of Wine and Let Me Tell You About My Day!

The Laotian Commotion

Lao-American honesty about parenting, relationships, and you

Family, Relationships and Personal Situations

FRaPS: Family, Relationship and Personal Situations are our specialty. Let us help you stay strong and full of life. Let's put an end to bullying and school shootings!!

Parenting And Stuff

Not a "how to be a great parent" blog

Game4Learning

Fun Learning Resouces for Kids

BLACK WOMEN BIRTHING JUSTICE

A collective of African-American, African, Caribbean and multi-racial women who are committed to transforming the birthing experiences for Black women

The Progress

a Progressive Pupil blog

Live, Love, Learn, and Laugh

one woman's journey

No Meat Athlete

Plant-Based Diet for Fitness | Vegan Recipes & Nutrition | Vegan Fitness & Running

The Mahogany Way

Loving The Ordinary & Capturing Moments

missionmightymom

A topnotch WordPress.com site

This is the Diary of My Stylish World

Wife, Mother, and lover of all things Fashion

The mindless Sojourner

Caressing my mind

My love affair with running

Here I am running, eating and breathing my way through life in beautiful Sydney (Powered by oats and tea)

