Happy Anniversary!!

20140219-015305.jpg

I debated about sharing this post but then I remembered that I started this blog to share what I learn as I go on this journey called life. So here you go. From being married for 5 years I’ve learned that life happens and you just have to role with it sometimes. I’ve also learned that I have the power to make the best out of what happens and to learn from EVERY situation.

On this day 5 years ago I married my husband and although we are separated right now I want to recognize our union. I’m not one to go around bashing a black man, we have enough people doing that, just because we are not on the best of terms. So while many people continue to say “that’s” just the way men are…men are sorry…insert what you want here, I’m choosing to recognize the greatness of the man I married and will continue to pray for forgiveness and for us to be happy again, hopefully that will be together, but if not I will ALWAYS respect what we had while together. If it weren’t for our union I wouldn’t be who I am today and I wouldn’t have my boys. (And y’all know what they mean to me๐Ÿ˜Š).

5 great things about my husband on our 5th anniversary.
1. He’s very creative and artistic
2. Working with children is one of his gifts. They seem to connect with him and he’s able to teach them because of that connection. I remember being amazed by him as he taught HIV/AIDS awareness through drama to 7 and 8 year old children.
3. He’s pretty patient and kind most of the time.
4. He can be very silly and playful when I’m feeling down.
5. He dreams BIG!! And I know he’ll realize some of his dreams.

So here’s to my husband. And for those who continue to be supportive, I say thank you. And to those who wonder how you can be supportive I ask you to keep lifting us up in your prayers.

Categories: Uncategorized | Tags: , , , , | 14 Comments

Post navigation

14 thoughts on “Happy Anniversary!!

  1. Hassan EUGENE

    HAPPY ANNIVERSARY COUSINS!!!

    I love your TRUTH! The fact that you wrestled with the idea and WON is AMAZING! This is YOUR journey and how you share it, uplifts and encourages anyone who comes across this blog and YOU! God Blessed me with a GREAT BEAUTIFUL SMART COUSIN!!!! AMEN Praying for you guys…. always.
    LOVE

  2. I’m pulling for you guys and I love that you are focused on the positive. Love has it’s seasons and hard times. It’s a part of the cycle. I do pray that you guys find your way back to each other. Cheers to many more years to come:)

  3. Good for you! It’s so hard to remain positive when you have so much going on. You are doing a great job! And lots of people go through marriages without the self awareness that you have for your relationship to prosper and be healthy. I hope your family finds the happiness and comfort you all deserve!

  4. Antwon

    Happy anniversary to the both of you and hope you are blessed with many more. Im glad to have the pleasure of knowing the the both of you and hope the next 5 will br even better

  5. Lark

    I missed a lot of beats, but thanks for sharing. I continue to admire you and your indomitable spirit. Everything will work out as it should, when it should……the universe always rebalances. So! Have faith, and keep the positive energy flowing. I am rooting for you and your boys. Peace

  6. Happy Anniversary!!! I was honored to see two, beautiful people share a gorgeous day with family and friends !WHAT?!!! five years ago. Thank you for allowing me to be part of it.
    Your light shines through with your words of honoring someone whom you have spent ‘human’ days with – all that encompasses life – wonder, sadness, excitement, loyalty and so much more but most of all – love. Blessings.

  7. How super positive of you! Congratulations โค

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Radical Doula

Where social justice & birth activism meet

QIsha

Finding balance in life.

There's no place like....

Paris, London, & Havana. Four homies from Barnard take it on the road!

Vicky...the Northern Chicky

Grab a Glass of Wine and Let Me Tell You About My Day!

The Laotian Commotion

Lao-American honesty about parenting, relationships, and you

Family, Relationships and Personal Situations

FRaPS: Family, Relationship and Personal Situations are our specialty. Let us help you stay strong and full of life. Let's put an end to bullying and school shootings!!

Parenting And Stuff

Not a "how to be a great parent" blog

Game4Learning

Fun Learning Resouces for Kids

BLACK WOMEN BIRTHING JUSTICE

A collective of African-American, African, Caribbean and multi-racial women who are committed to transforming the birthing experiences for Black women

The Progress

a Progressive Pupil blog

Live, Love, Learn, and Laugh

one woman's journey

No Meat Athlete

Plant-Based Diet for Fitness | Vegan Recipes & Nutrition | Vegan Fitness & Running

The Mahogany Way

Loving The Ordinary & Capturing Moments

missionmightymom

A topnotch WordPress.com site

This is the Diary of My Stylish World

Wife, Mother, and lover of all things Fashion

The mindless Sojourner

Caressing my mind

My love affair with running

Here I am running, eating and breathing my way through life in beautiful Sydney (Powered by oats and tea)

